PENCIL Welcomes New Class of Board Leaders

NASHVILLE, TN, July 11, 2023 – PENCIL (Public Education Needs Community Involvement and Leadership), the boots-on-the-ground community resource recruiter to Metro Nashville Public Schools (MNPS), is pleased to announce its new class of board members as well as a new slate of board officers for the 2023-24 program year.

Building on continued growth at PENCIL, the new cohort of board members complements their fellow industry leaders in delivering PENCIL’s vision to create a world in which MNPS students and teachers have equitable access to resources and opportunities.  

“We are thrilled to welcome such dynamic, forward-thinking industry leaders to PENCIL. Our work is always stronger when we add input from our board members, especially as our strategic plan continues to push us into new ways of recruiting resources for MNPS,” shares PENCIL CEO Angie Adams. “Ultimately, our students and teachers benefit from the talents of this diverse and connected group of board and community leaders.” 

Effective July 1, the new governing board members will serve a three-year term. They are:
Liberty Berman, Louisiana-Pacific Corp – VP, Chief Tax Officer
Elizabeth Garza Bumpas, Vanderbilt University – Government and Community Relations
Leslie Cowell, Lipscomb University – Dean, College of Education
Jessie Garcia Knowles, Tennessee Latin American Chamber of Commerce – Executive Director
Mike Harris, Universal Music Group Nashville – EVP COO
Brandon Hill, Nashville Soccer Club – Head of Community Engagement
Johari Matthews, Tennessee Titans – Vice President, Tennessee Titans Foundation & Community Impact
P. Danielle Nellis, Klein Solomon Mills, PLLC – Counsel
Yanet Rodriguez, JJJ Service – Owner
Juan Williams, Tennessee Department of Human Resources – Commissioner, Department of Human Resources 

Ex Officio:
Ali Buchanan, Young Leaders Council
Ryan Flanagan, Young Leaders Council
Will Parrott, Young Leaders Council
Jessica Turcasso, Young Leaders Council 

The new slate of board officers as of July 1 includes:
Board Chair: Hasina Mohyuddin, Vanderbilt University Peabody College – Assistant Dean of Equity, Diversity & Inclusion
Vice-Chair: Robyn Williams, Bridgestone Americas, Inc. – Director of Global Business Strategy, Tire Solutions
Treasurer: Jose Ferreira, JLL, Inc. – Finance Director 
Secretary: Perry Moulds, Belmont University – Vice President for Advancement 
Immediate Past Chair: Wesley Payne, Pinnacle Financial Partners – Financial Advisor